Confirmation Class


pcusajpeg

Confirmation classes meet Sunday mornings at 9:30am, beginning Sunday, September 18, 2016.

Our goal is to confirm the faith in our youth, to help them own and live their faith in Jesus Christ, not simply conform to what they have been told to believe. Confirmation challenges young people to look at things they’ve thought was true, really think about what they believe, and ask why they believe it. Our approach to confirmation involves the visual aspects of the faith with the help of the Presbyterian seal and writing and depicting our faith with words and symbols. Along the way, we’ll visit a Jewish synagogue, Islamic community center, Catholic church and Baptist church. We’ll talk with the leaders about their faith and put their faith in conversation with our own. We’ll also go on a retreat with other youth at Holmes Presbyterian Conference Center. Contact the church office if you are interested in learning more.

Confirmation Sunday will be May 7, 2017 at the 10:45 am service.

 

2016-17 Confirmation Schedule Through January

Sunday, September 18 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, September 25 – class @ 9:30am and Parent meeting @ 9:30am

Sunday, October 2 – class @ 9:30am and Blessing of the Animals @ 2pm
Sunday, October 9 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, October 16 – class @ 9:30am
Friday, October 21 – Visit Temple Beth Am
Sunday, October 23 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, October 30 – class @ 9:30am

Sunday, November 6 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, November 13 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, November 20 – class @ 9:30 am and Interfaith Service @ 6pm at the Shrub Oak Islamic Center
Sunday, November 27 – no class

Sunday, December 4 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, December 11 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, December 18 – class @ 9:30am
Sunday, December 25 – no class

Sunday, January 1 – no class
Sunday, January 8 – class @ 9:30am and outing at 4:30pm
Sunday, January 15 – class @ 9:30am and Martin Luther King Jr. Service @ 4pm at Antioch Baptist Church
Sunday, January 22 – class @ 9:30am
Friday, January 27 – Confirmation Class Midnight Run
Sunday, January 29 – class @ 9:30am

Other dates:
Tuesday, February 28 – cook for the pancake supper
March 17-18 – Confirmation Retreat at Holmes Presbyterian Conference Center
Sunday, April 30 – Confirmation class meets with Session at 4:30pm
Sunday, May 7 – Confirmation Sunday

youth_btn_homepage